Tatuaje TAA 2027 Cigar Specs, Price and Release Date
The Tatuaje TAA 2027 is a box-pressed 5 5/8 x 54 cigar priced at $16 a cigar, made in a run of 3,000 boxes of 20 for release in January 2027. halfwheel reported on November 1, 2026, that Tatuaje announced it for retail members of the Tobacconists' Association of America (TAA), and the TAA described it as an homage to the first Tatuaje TAA from 2011. At Humidorist, we have not smoked it, so this page covers the published specs and gives no flavor or strength verdict.
What the Tatuaje TAA 2027 Is
The Tatuaje TAA 2027 is a limited edition box-pressed 5 5/8 x 54 with a covered foot, a Connecticut broadleaf wrapper and Nicaraguan binders and fillers. Tatuaje announced it at the TAA meeting held the week of October 25 to 29, 2026. halfwheel's report by Patrick Lagreid lists these specs:
| Detail | Tatuaje TAA 2027 |
|---|---|
| Size | 5 5/8 x 54 |
| Shape | Box-pressed, covered foot |
| Wrapper | Connecticut broadleaf |
| Binders and fillers | Nicaraguan |
| Production | 3,000 boxes of 20 (60,000 cigars) |
| Price per cigar | $16 |
| Price per box | $320 for 20 |
| Who sells it | TAA retail members |
| Ship window | Planned for shelves in January 2027 |
| Exact ship date | Not reported |
| Strength rating | Not reported |
| Factory | Not reported |
The box price lines up with the single price: $320 divided by 20 cigars is $16 a cigar. Our cigar sizes guide shows where a 5 5/8 x 54 sits among other formats. Our cigar wrappers guide explains wrapper types.
How It Compares with Earlier Tatuaje TAA Cigars
The Tatuaje TAA 2027 uses the same size and blend as the 2011 Tatuaje TAA, and the TAA described the new cigar as an homage to that first release. Tatuaje made a TAA cigar every year from 2011 through 2023. Then it took a break before this 2027 release.
The table below is a selection from halfwheel's longer list of Tatuaje TAA releases, current as of November 1, 2026. It does not show every year.
| Release | Size | Price per cigar | Price per box of 20 | Boxes | Total cigars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TAA 2011 | 5 5/8 x 54 | $11 | $220 | 1,500 | 30,000 |
| TAA 2015 | 5 5/8 x 54 | $11 | $220 | 3,800 | 76,000 |
| TAA 2020 | 5 5/8 x 54 | $11.95 | $239 | 3,000 | 60,000 |
| TAA 2022 | 5 3/8 x 52 | $14.50 | $290 | 1,000 | 20,000 |
| TAA 2023 | 6 3/8 x 54 | $15 | $300 | 2,500 | 50,000 |
| TAA 2027 | 5 5/8 x 54 | $16 | $320 | 3,000 | 60,000 |
Here is how the 2027 cigar compares with the releases on either end of the gap:
- Against the 2011 cigar, the 2027 single costs $5 more ($16 against $11).
- The 2027 run of 60,000 cigars is twice the 2011 run of 30,000.
- Against the 2023 cigar, the 2027 single costs $1 more ($16 against $15), and the box costs $20 more ($320 against $300).
The 2027 run of 3,000 boxes matches the TAA 2020 count.
What the TAA Exclusive Series Program Is
The TAA Exclusive Series Program (ESP) is the set of exclusive cigars that manufacturers make for TAA retail members. halfwheel describes the TAA as a membership group of around 80 retailers and about 40 manufacturers. The group meets once a year to discuss industry issues and hold a trade show built on group buying, so member shops can secure exclusive deals.
Typically around a dozen manufacturers release ESP cigars each year. Those manufacturers give part of the proceeds to the TAA, at a minimum of 50 cents per cigar. halfwheel does not report what share Tatuaje gives on the TAA 2027.
The 2026 meeting took place October 25 to 29 at Casa de Campo in the Dominican Republic. Casa Carrillo, Espinosa, Gurkha, J.C. Newman, Joya de Nicaragua, Kristoff, La Flor Dominicana, Rocky Patel, Scandinavian Tobacco Group, Tatuaje and Villiger Cigars North America have announced 2026 ESP releases. Our fall and holiday 2026 limited releases page covers the Gurkha, Villiger and La Flor Dominicana Chapter III cigars. We also cover the Casa Carrillo 2026 TAA exclusive and J.C. Newman's Brick House Beginnings Ciento por Ciento.
Who Should Try to Get One
Try for a Tatuaje TAA 2027 if a TAA member shop is near you and you want a box-pressed 5 5/8 x 54 with a Connecticut broadleaf wrapper over Nicaraguan tobacco. It also suits you if you want a new cigar that the TAA describes as an homage to the 2011 Tatuaje TAA, which used the same size and blend.
Skip it if you want a cigar you know is mild. halfwheel did not report a strength rating, and we have not smoked it, so nobody can tell you its strength from the published facts. Start with our best cigars for beginners list instead.
Our answer would change in three cases:
- Tatuaje or halfwheel publishes a strength rating.
- A list of TAA shops carrying the cigar appears.
- We get to smoke one and report on it.
If you want a different Tatuaje cigar, see our page on the Tatuaje Skinny Krueger and Skinny Michael.
Getting One in January
Ask a TAA member shop whether it ordered the Tatuaje TAA 2027 and when its boxes will arrive. halfwheel reports only that Tatuaje plans to have the cigar on shelves in January 2027, with no specific date. halfwheel also does not report how many TAA retailers will carry it.
At $320 for a box of 20, a box is the larger purchase. If you buy one, follow our guide on how to store cigars to keep the box in good condition.
FAQ
How much is the Tatuaje TAA 2027?
The Tatuaje TAA 2027 costs $16 per cigar and $320 for a box of 20, according to halfwheel. That is $5 more per cigar than the 2011 Tatuaje TAA and $1 more than the 2023 release.
When does the Tatuaje TAA 2027 come out?
Tatuaje plans to have the Tatuaje TAA 2027 on shelves in January 2027. halfwheel did not report a specific day in January.
What is the Tatuaje TAA 2027 made of?
The Tatuaje TAA 2027 uses a Connecticut broadleaf wrapper over Nicaraguan binders and fillers. It is a box-pressed 5 5/8 x 54 with a covered foot, the same size and blend as the 2011 Tatuaje TAA.
How many Tatuaje TAA 2027 cigars are being made?
Tatuaje is making 3,000 boxes of 20, for a total of 60,000 cigars. That run is twice the size of the 2011 release, which had 1,500 boxes and 30,000 cigars.
Logging Your Tatuaje TAA 2027
Call a TAA member shop in early January and ask when its Tatuaje TAA 2027 boxes arrive. Once you have a Tatuaje TAA 2027 in hand, log it in the Humidor Tracker so you know when you bought it and how long it has rested.